IIBA® Multi-Level Competency-Based Certification Framework

To meet the growing demands of the global marketplace in the field of business analysis, IIBA® has actively engaged our community in developing a new BA Gold Standard Certification Framework. The result is an enhanced, multi-level competency-based certification program that recognizes your knowledge and skills, and supports your lifelong business analysis (BA) career progression.


Here you will find information about the International Institute of Business Analysis (IIBA®) certification program, and the process and requirements to become certified. 


This program has three levels, each with its own experience, professional development and other eligibility requirements as well as a competency-based assessment.


These levels are specifically aligned with the knowledge areas, perspectives, and underlying competencies defined in the A Guide to the Business Analysis Body of Knowledge® (BABOK® Guide) v3.


IIBA Four-level Certification Framework


Level 1
Recognizes individuals entering the field of business analysis.


Level 2
Recognizes BA professionals who have 2-3 years of BA experience.

Level 3
Recognizes BA professionals who lead and have over 5 years of BA experience.


Certification Level Handbooks