Certification of Competency in Business AnalysisTM (CCBA®)

IMPORTANT - SCHEDULED MAINTENANCE - Impacts to Your Certification Online Application

Please be advised that, as of midnight September 27th Eastern Time, access to the current versions of the Certification Online Applications will be removed. If you wish to submit your in progress application before we move to the new online applications, you must complete and submit before midnight on September 27th.

Additionally, the IIBA portal and access to member pages will be down for scheduled maintenance on September 28, 2016 beginning at 3:00am Eastern Time. We are upgrading our site to provide superior service and usability.

New! Certification is changing. IIBA® has announced a new multi-level, competency-based certification program, which will be launched in September 2016. Current CCBA® recipients will map to level 2 in the multi-level enhanced certification program, and will not be required to take the level 2 exam. Gain access to the latest information

Please note: 
Current exams for CCBA® are aligned to v2 of BABOK® Guide and will only be available up to and including September 22, 2016
There will be a blackout period, whereby no IIBA exams, will be offered between September 23 and September 29.


If you certified (i.e. passed the exam) based on the current version aligned to BABOK® Guide v2.0, you do not need to recertify before the cutover to the new exams on Sept 30.  You can submit and pay for your recertification when it is due.  In addition, you will have 1 full 3 year cycle after the new exam launch on Sept 30 before you will need to recertify on the new recertification requirements. 

For example, if you passed the CBAP or CCBA exam prior to Sept 30, 2016, you can recertify on the current requirements up to Sept 30, 2019.
New competency-based exams for Level 2 will be available at all test centres that offer IIBA certification exams on September 30, 2016. 

The Certification of Competency in Business AnalysisTM (CCBA®) designation is a professional certification for business analysis practitioners who want to be recognized for their expertise and skills by earning formal recognition. With at least 3750 hours of hands-on business analysis experience, they have developed essential BA skills.

CCBA® recipients are recognized for the investment they have already made in their business analysis careers, and include professionals working in the role of:

  • Business analysis
  • Systems analysis
  • Requirements analysis or management
  • Process improvement
  • Consulting

To apply for the Certification of Competency in Business Analysis exam and earn the CCBA® designation, a business analyst will need to be knowledgeable in all six knowledge areas of A Guide to the Business Analysis Body of Knowledge® (BABOK® Guide), with proficiency in at least two. Applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Minimum 3750 hours of business analysis work experience aligned with the BABOK® Guide in the last seven years
  • Minimum 900 hours in two of the six knowledge areas or 500 hours in four of the six knowledge areas
  • Minimum 21 hours of Professional Development in the past four years
  • Minimum high school education or equivalent
  • Two references from a career manager, client or Certified Business Analysis ProfessionalTM (CBAP®) recipient
  • Signed Code of Conduct

CCBA® applicants are expected to review the CCBA® Handbook for complete information on application criteria, application and exam fees and details on how to apply.